so it begins…

HIM:  Starting a blog is somewhat of a daunting task.  When Carly and I first talked about writing one jointly, I was all for it, that is until I realized that I actually had to put words on paper screen.  All of a sudden, it’s not quite as fun as it sounds anymore… those memories of sleepless nights in college, staring at a blinking cursor, ugh.  Who wants to revisit that?   BUT, having said that, I began to see this as a challenge and ultimately something fun where I get to share with you something that I truly love – FOOD.  I love food, I think it’s one of the most enjoyable experiences in life.  And god bless my Asian genes, if it wasn’t for that, I’d probably be 300 lbs by now.  Did I mention that I love to eat and try anything?

So where did I get this passion for food?  Growing up, my mom and dad were both fabulous chefs.  My mom was more of an everyday super-cook, and my dad was the one for dinner parties or banquets.  Between the two of them, I’ve had endless enjoyment of getting to try new things and on the flip side, endless embarrassments of sending food back to the kitchen cause it was either too cold, too salty, too overcooked, you name it.  Can you imagine the trauma I went through???  In any case, a bar was set early in my life, and that bar has been rising even since.  Ever since I moved to LA about 3 years ago, I’ve sought out some goodies all around town.  Furthermore, I’ve been even more fortunate to have met a counterpart in Carly who enjoys food just as much as I do.  It is a special bond that’s cherished dearly by the both of us.

So without further ado, let’s begin!

Random thoughts (other than food) of the day:

– Isn’t it great that the debt ceiling has been rescued/lifted?  Yeah right, like you cared.

HER:  Hello, world.  Yes – yes there is, one more blog in this universe they called the Internet.  As Jason mentioned, starting a blog is quite the daunting task.  This is in fact my very first blog post and this cursor just. keeps. blinking. on the white screen.  I’ve been a ‘lurker’ in the blog community for a while now, reading and following and getting inspiration along the way.  I’ve always thought about writing one, mulling over countless ideas only to scrap them because of meaningless excuses.  So when Jason suggested we start a blog together, I admit I was hesitant at first – how can two people both write a blog…we have different writing styles…we have different points of view…we’ll lose our branding, our vision and our posts will become too random – no one will read it.  Hold on there, Carly – let’s go back to square one – we have a record number of zero readers now – and how will you ever know if you don’t just bite the bullet and go for it?

So here it is – our little blog is born.  True foodies at heart, this is a place for us to chronicle delicious eats, experimental recipes, while adding our own quips and personality along the way.  Like Jason, I developed my love for food at a very young age as it was drilled in my head through my big, loud Jewish family.  A good meal not only represented nourishment, but it symbolized family, celebrations, and a comfortable reassurance.  Hopefully, through this blog you’ll get a glimpse from life in our eyes through the foods that invigorate us, motivates us, and provokes an underlying sense that good food is meant to be shared.

Post Wine Tasting; Pre Delicious Meal at The Old Place Cornell in Malibu

After all, life is way too short to eat at a chain restaurant.

4 thoughts on “so it begins…

  1. Yay!!! So glad you’re blogging now! Love the pictures and you guys are too cute. Can’t wait to follow along!

Leave a Reply

