Socially Retarded

HIS: It’s always fun to try things and figure out your own likes and dislikes, but sometimes it’s even more enjoyable or hilarious when we impose upon others to try some things that are foreign to them. For instance, Carly’s dad is always a good sport about trying new things. I think he’s enjoyed mostly everything that Carly and I have thrown at him. However, after dinner yesterday, we finally found his breaking point. He surrendered to little balls. Tapioca balls to be exact. And if you’ve never tried them before, go to your nearest FOB Asian tea spot or Urth Cafe and order yourself a cup of Joe or tea with these little gummy balls. You’ll either love them or spit fire them right out… there really isn’t anything in between. I wish I took a picture of his face. It’s absolutely comical.

So in any case, I want to share with you what’s on my mind these days. Ever since I turned 30, I believe I’ve started to see things under a different light. I like to think it’s because I am getting more mature with my thoughts or it simply could be me getting increasingly retarded. It’s most likely the latter, but you can make the call with my recent revelations below:

1.) On my birthday this year, I measured my self-worth through the amount of facebook “happy birthday” wall posts I received.

2.) Success means being the last one connected to a business conference call.

3.) Why do people send out the apologetic “my account was hacked into” mass emails? My immediate thought to that is – You’re a nobody. No one hacked into your account. You have a virus. Probably caught it from clicking on the “You can lose 30 lbs in 3 days if you buy this useless ab-roller” ad.

4.) Walked past an apartment for rent the other day with a sign that read “a non-refundable deposit is required…” My immediate reaction to that was What the hell is a non-refundable “deposit”? Isn’t that, um, a fee?

5.) Strangely, the thing that a lot of my friends hate most about LA – the people – is the one thing that doesn’t really bother me. Sure there are hordes of douchey hollywood wannabes, but they’re no worse than the Capitol Hill wannabes/interns in DC. I’ve actually met some great people out here. If you think about it, LA is a little like college. If you are in the entertainment industry aka the “biz”, everybody knows each other, all the gossip of who did this that, who went home with whom, what’s not to like?

As I mentioned in an earlier post, this is the Grilled Pork Belly Ciabatta bread sandwich at Mendocino Farm Sandwich Farms

Now that's a breakfast... Dim Sum Sunday

The Sophisticated Chicken Salad from where else... Mendocino Farms

 

Leave a Reply

