All Hail the Kale

HER:  Yes, I live in Los Angeles.  Yes, I drive a Prius with my yoga mat in the trunk.  Yes, I smile at Marcia Cross at my local Whole Foods as she stands in line for her daily juice.  I get it.  I’m exposed to every healthy diet out there – vegan, vegetarian, raw, gluten-free, etc. etc. In turn, I’ve developed some healthy habits and hopefully, through this post – you will learn a little secret…healthy food isn’t bland, boring, or dry – it can actually be delicious.

Let me introduce you to one of my favorite green vegetables: my good friend, kale.  Say hello, be nice, stop scrunching up your nose with that disgusted look (I can see you).  I’m telling you, this kale salad will open your eyes to a world you never knew.  You will love this salad; you will crave this salad.  And if you don’t, you can sue me for the net worth of this blog.

Necessary sidekicks

Ingredients:  head of kale, green onions, lemon, avocado, Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (***love this product – replaces dressing, soy sauce, etc.***), Wheat Germ, whatever colorful veggies your little heart desires (here there is red pepper, yellow heirloom tomato, cucumber), hemp seed (optional but adds protein and a nutty flavor)

Chop up the kale in a large bowl and add other veggies.  Toss with wheat germ (about a tablespoon or two), amino acids, and juice from the lemon.  Friends let me tell you what: amino acid + lemon juice = fantastically amazing.

Toss, Toss, Toss

Top with dill & serve.  Eat bowl after bowl.

Not only will this taste amazing, but you will feel amazing.  Let’s be honest – kale is pretty much a superstar when it comes to vegetables.  Take it in, give it a little massage, and eat it up.  It won’t bite – I promise.

When you start to refer to kale as a person, you are certifiably one of the crazy’s in LA making your clothes out of tree bark.  Congratulations, you’ve arrived.

2 thoughts on “All Hail the Kale

  1. You make me laugh. I have a big weakness for heirloom tomatoes….holy yum. Maybe I’ll branch out from my typical caprese-esque salad and try this! Although, where I the world do I find the amino acids?!

  2. you should definitely try this! You can find the amino acids anywhere – I get it at Ralph’s which is the equivalent to Kroger on the East Coast. Let me know if you do – I’m curious!

Leave a Reply

