Almost Home

HER:  Hello, friends!  I have arrived in the US after spending 10 days in Israel.  Well, technically I touched down Wednesday evening but was pretty much a hot mess upon arrival and 24 hours after that…end of trip sickness + 12 hour flight + 10 hour time change will do that to you.  Now that I’m feeling more like a human, I wanted to check in and say hello.

I’m in New York until Saturday, visiting family and attempting to catch up on the extraordinary amount of emails that came through my inbox in the past 10 days.  That being said, I don’t have my home computer with me so have not uploaded any pictures. I will try to curtail this post as a ‘brief check-in’ and not a ‘re-cap’ post as I know no one wants to read my ramblings without some pics.

To sum it up in a few words and googled images, my days in Israel were filled with lots of…

Falafel

Shawarma

and one of my favorites: fresh veggies at EVERY.MEAL! (sans kale + broccoli but I dealt with it).

Alas my journey to the Holy Land was much more than food, if that can even be possible. It was one of those whirlwind trips that may take me a while to really sink my teeth into and be able to accurately portray the humbleness of Israel’s people, the beauty of its lands, and the amazing energy that surrounds it.

For now, I’m excited about American plugs, ice, and finally seeing a certain someone. I will be back with a more official ‘re-cap’ post and pictures but for now, I will leave you with one key take-away from my trip:

Last Friday night and Saturday day, we celebrated the Sabbath.  We celebrated a morning of sleeping in, a day of nowhere to be, a day of rest.  We washed our hands of the previous week, the good, the bad, the random memories, and started anew. It was refreshing, invigorating, and after 5+ days of intense hiking, crazy schedules, insanely hot weather (+ ugly hair), it was soooo necessary.  I’m sure your week has been filled with to-dos that were not met, unexpected annoyances, and hopefully some memorable moments in between.  But guess what?  It’s over.  You have a new week. So, as my friends in Israel would say – Shabbat Shalom.

And no, I did not go to Israel to become a Rabbi.  It’s good to be back.

One thought on “Almost Home

Leave a Reply

