Experimenting with Needles

HER: Mom, calm down.  Not what you think. (PS – hi mom! I’m glad you decided to join us over here!) Although I’ve been thinking about it for a while, I recently started to get acupuncture.  Why the heck would you do that?, you ask.  No, it’s not because I live in CA, go to yoga, drive a Prius, etc.  No, it’s not because my boyfriend is Chinese.  I went for a specific reason that I’ve always personally worried about but no other (western) doctor has seemed to really worry about and/or prescribes me a variety of medicines to simultaneously ‘fix’ this concern.

What is acupuncture?  Just as the Western medical doctor monitors the blood flowing through blood vessels and the messages traveling via the nervous system, the acupuncturist assesses the flow and distribution of this “vital energy” within its pathways, known as “meridians and channels”. 

The acupuncturist is able to influence health and sickness by stimulating certain areas along these “meridians”. Traditionally these areas or “acupoints” were stimulated by fine, slender needles. Still, the aim remains the same – adjust the “vital energy” so the proper amount reaches the proper place at the proper time. This helps your body heal itself. source

Self portrait before my session (I always make sure to perfectly apply my make up beforehand)

I start the session by telling my acupuncturist anything that has been going on: i.e. not sleeping well, sugar cravings, etc.  She checks my tongue to check my progress and the severity of each system so she knows what areas of my body to focus on.  When I asked my acupuncturist about her road to this profession, she told me how she originally went to medical school to become a ‘Western – focused’ doctor but was intrigued by Eastern because “Western is great for fixing a specific issue but Eastern is beneficial in the long-term, for overall health”.

She suggested dietary changes based off of the book Eat Right for Your Blood Type.  I was worried at first because I normally don’t eat a lot of the foods it recommended for me.  I focused on three main foods that were ‘highly beneficial’ and tried to avoid the ones that the book encouraged me not to eat.

The results?  I love it!

This is a little what I’ve experienced so far:

  • higher energy levels
  • improved memory, more focused
  • better immune system
  • pulled a muscle in my foot from running – felt better after one acupuncture session

All in all, (and my sisters make fun of me for saying this) I just feel more balanced.  I really believe and encourage these small ways to improve your health before you have an issue or a concern.  Whether it’s small changes to your diet, adding services like acupuncture, or just simply being more aware and asking questions about your health, we will all benefit.

There are many resources.  One of my favorite bloggers (and the first one I ever started reading!) Healthy Tipping Point‘s husband is the co-founder of their business Holistic Wellness and their blog has lots of good info on all sorts of oriental medicine whether it’s acupuncture, supplements or other kinds of natural medicine therapies.  Ask the questions and be open.

What are your thoughts on acupuncture?  Freaked out by the needles or curious to try it?

Leave a Reply

